I just wanted to lighten things up a bit and give people a little background on Gary and myself. Some people have met me, know our story, and what we have endured. I am a Louisiana girl that moved off to Indiana to just move. I was dating this guy, who introduced me to the organization that Gary once belonged to and he encouraged me to write them. I begin to write them, and something about Gary just stood out. He was the only one that I stayed constant writing. For all he had endured, he was so funny with an awesome sense of humor. His letters always made me laugh. He was a rebel, just like me.

The stories of his childhood were so funny. His childhood was not easy, he grew up in mixed foster homes. He actually ran away from his last foster home, and then ended up running away from his parents. He then joined the military at a very young age. However, he had the rebel soul and found trouble, and ended up in prison. He then met Pastor Butler, and Pastor Butler changed his life for the better. Everybody has their past and makes their mistakes, and Gary is not any different. However, his past made him the strong man that he was to make the sacrifices that he did. Gary had a lot of street knowledge and that was a definite asset, but he also made him the caring and loving man that he is. He also uses that knowledge to try to help keep others out of trouble….so sometimes a past is not a bad thing. It gives a person knowledge and life experience. But Gary is not the person the media portrays him to be.

After Gary and myself started writing, we then took it to phone calls, and then finally visits. I had pictured Gary to be this huge guy from all the stories I heard about him. I can remember sitting their very nervous waiting to meet him for the first time…by this time we were already in love, just neither one of us had said anything. He finally makes it to his visiting box (we’ve never had a contact visit…it has always been non-contact and behind glass…I have never been able to give my husband a kiss!), and in steps this man who was not much taller than me, but still very muscular. He truly fit his nickname…he did look like Yosemite Sam! I had to really smile. Those 5 days of visits went by so fast and were heaven for both of us. Finally, we decided to admit our feelings about each other to each other, but he didn’t want to tie me down to waiting for him. I didn’t care. I loved him with all my heart. He is the most caring husband and man. He worries more about me and our grandson than he does about his situation. We were married, but it hasn’t been easy.

In 2010, they did the Notice of Action, and his 2014 parole date was vacated. I had to accept the fact that my husband may never come home, but that did not and will not ever change my love and commitment to him. Then we hoped for the 30 year mandatory release, and that has been a bust. Also, being Mrs. Gary Yarbrough is not easy. When I went to visit him one time and had the grandbaby with me, a guard threaten me to Gary. Since it is non-contact visits, we talk via phone and correctional officers monitor our conversation. This is when Gary’s health was really bad, so I was thinking of moving closer to the prison and I was taking the grandbaby to Denver to see Thomas the Train after our visit. After our visit, when the guard was taking Gary back to his cell, the guard said, “Isn’t your wife a little bit too young for you? I know where she is looking at a house at and I know where she is going after she leaves here. I can follow her if I want to.” Imagine being told that as you are locked in your cell with no phone to warn your loved one (in ADX they have to bring them the phone and it is only on certain days). I am surprised Gary kept his cool…that shows how much he does want to come home! As soon as he got the phone a couple days later, he called me in a panic to see if I was okay. After I talked to Gary, I then called the prison to let them know about the guard, but I know what they were going to tell me. They told me, “You don’t have any proof, and it is the officers word against his.” This is why COs get away with so much crap and abuse to prisoners.

I also set him up a Go Fund Me page for legal funds and it was shut down within an hour of it being opened LOL. I love my husband so it is worth all the work I put into bringing him home. I can’t wait until the day when he can tell me all the funny stories about his life face-to-face without glass between us….my Yosemite Sam definitely had an adventurous life 🙂 Oh, to be a fly on the wall 🙂 But life has not been easy for him…he has been beaten, denied medical care, and been kept in solitary for most of his years in prison—not to mention the mind games they have played with him. Most of his family has passed away while he is in prison. His Mom died from breast cancer and it was a fight to get them their last phone calls. He was not even allowed to go to the funeral of his Mom, Dad, brother, or sister.

We will endure and our love will endure. One day Gary WILL be home to live out his last few years with those he loves. Thank you for all the support and help. I will raise enough money to get him an attorney so he can expose the BOP and government agencies for their crimes. It might take me a while to do it, but I will do it! We have never even been able to take a picture together, so here we are separately LOL. We have missed out on so much, but our love stays strong!

Much love and respect,

Susan Yarbrough

Gary

Gary

Lil Man and me

Lil Man and me