Gary called me tonight, and I had been worried about him because I do hear from him on a regular basis. Gary is at Florence High and does get let out of his cell for rec, to use the computer (for legal work and to email through corrlinks but emailing is all he can do), and he stays in contact with me. I haven’t heard from him for a few days. I finally got a call tonight. Over the weekend, he had been beaten by another prisoner (with guards just a few feet away, who did nothing to stop it) until he was unconscious, and then he was tear gassed by the correctional officers while unconscious.

Gary was on the computer, fixing to email me and this other prisoner came up to Gary and told him that it was his turn on the computer. Gary told him that it wasn’t yet his turn. The prisoner then attacked Gary. The prisoner who attacked Gary was 3 times Gary’s size and half his age. It is hard for Gary to defend himself because of his arthritis. The prisoner beat Gary until he was unconscious. When Gary woke up, he realized he had been gassed while being unconscious. This was very inhumane treatment. Tear gas is meant to be used to control situations, not to use on somebody who is already unconscious.

They then put Gary in the hole without medical treatment. When he called me, he was in so much pain and having trouble breathing that he could barely talk. The beating happened on Saturday and he has been in the hole since then with not seeing one doctor. It was Tuesday night when Gary called me.

I have cried since I have gotten off the phone with Gary. Both Gary and myself know where this is going…they have always tried to break Gary, and this isn’t the first time he has been beaten severely. We know they want him dead…but here is a little word for the BOP and DOJ.

You want my husband out of the way because of the truth that he has and the fact he would never roll over or play into your little games. But you know what…when you do kill him..whether it is by medical neglect or having somebody beat him to death, he will become what you don’t want him to become…a martyr.

Yes, Gary will become a martyr once you kill him behind those walls…and you know what that will do? With all the unrest right now, a martyr, especially one who was killed off behind those walls will all that will be needed to ignite that spark that you corrupt people so dread. That will bring unity and strength to what you so hate…it will bring about what you don’t want to happen…Is this what you want? Or would you rather leave Gary alone, stop the abuse, and let him come home, and stay quietly in the background…not saying a word.

It is on you. No matter what happens to Gary, I will keep fighting. I will ALWAYS fight to show the injustice you have done to him. What are you going to do to me? Kill me to or have somebody out of a prison gang come and beat me up? I do not fear you…

I will continue after I’ve had some sleep…it is after 3am, and I am tired and stressed.